Raith Rovers v Arbroath KO 15:00 17/10

Arbroath v Dumbarton – Saturday 4th May 2019

Arbroath 1 – 1 Dumbarton

Arbroath finally got their hands on the Ladbrokes League One Trophy on Saturday after having led the league from day one.

The atmosphere before kick off was brimming of excitement as Arbroath Manager Dick Campbell led out his the team out through a guard of honour from Dumbarton.

The Lichties were without key defenders Jason Thomson and Thomas O’Brien through injury and suspension which meant midfielders David Gold and Mark Whatley deputised at right and left back respectively.

Arbroath started brightly with Luke Donnelly pulling a shot just wide of the left post after 7 minutes   before Ryan McCord forced Conor Brennan into a good save from 12 yards just 10 minutes later.

In the 22nd minute Omar Kader was denied by the leg of Brennan after gliding into the box and firing a low angled drive.

Dumbarton’s opening chance came on the back of Brennan’s save with a long ball being latched onto by Callum Gallagher.  The striker didn’t fully connect with the ball allowing Darren Jamieson a routine save.

Brennan was again called into action, this time palming a Ryan McCord free kick around his post in the 32nd minute.

Despite the game not being played at normal league tempo it was full of moments of quality and Stuart Carswell was unfortunate when his curling effort from the edge of the box rattled the Arbroath bar.

As the second half got underway Arbroath Captain Mark Whatley almost notched his first goal of the season with a 20 yard drive which looked in until the last moment when it curled away.

Dumbarton clearly hadn’t received the party script as Calum Gallagher opened the scoring in the 54th minute.

The Sons had passed the ball out of their own 18 yard box up the field and Gallagher showed a great touch to latch onto a Dom Thomas pass at the near post to beat Jamieson.

The game really came to life in the 62 minute.   Dumbarton denied both Greig Spence and Luke Donnelly in a goalmouth scramble.   With Brennan tangled up in a body of players, McCord remained calm and picked his spot in the gaping goal.

As the Arbroath fans started to celebrate, defender Cameron Ballantyne threw himself at the ball making the save of the game as he punched the ball out for a corner.

Despite his claims that he headed the ball, the red card was inevitable which allowed McKenna to place the ball on the spot and equalise – although Brennan was unlucky as he managed to get a glove to the ball.

Both keepers continued to impress as Jamieson denied Bobby Barr with a point blank save on the line before Brennan denied Colin Hamilton with a finger tip save over his bar.

Bobby Linn replaced McCord and was given the chance to give the game a Hollywood’s hero ending as he stepped up to take a free kick just outside of the box.

The Dumbarton wall did its job and Referee Peter Stuart soon blew the whistle on the game and Arbroath’s journey in League One.


Next stop the Championship!


Arbroath; Jamieson, Gold, Whatley (c), Little, Hamilton, McCord (Linn 73), McKenna, Donnelly (Doris 68), Spence (Wallace 73) Swankie, Kader

Substitutes not used; Denholm, Thomson, Hill (GK)

Goal – McKenna 62 pen

Yellow Card – McKenna 41

Dumbarton; Brennan, Ferguson (Armour 88), McLean, C. Barr, Ballantyne, Forbes (c), Carswell, Hutton (Van Schaik 60), B. Barr (Russell 68), Thomas, Gallagher

Substitutes not used; Adam (GK)

Goal – Gallagher 54

Yellow Cards – Hutton 35, Barr 74

Red Card – Ballantyne 61

Attendance – 1373

Referee – Peter Stuart


Ladbrokes Championship

On Friday 13th march 2020, all Scottish Football was postponed due to the Covid-19 pandemic. On Wednesday 15th April 2020, a vote was made that the 2019/220 Season has come to an end.

1Dundee United281031351082417123059
2Inverness Caledonian Thistle2782324146171518745
4Ayr United2763518146162021340
5Dunfermline Athletic2873525173461619537
8Alloa Athletic2844612193652124-1031
9Queen of the South2842817203561120-1228
10Partick Thistle2724713224461925-1526

Sign Up to our Newsletter

© 2020 Arbroath FC | SC276703
Web Design by: Purple Imp