shopping-bag 0
Items : 0
Subtotal : £0.00
View Cart Check Out

Single Blog Title

This is a single blog caption

Arbroath vs Elgin City – Match Preview

Arbroath vs Elgin City – Match Preview

Betfred Cup – Group C – Game 1 – Season 2019 / 2020

Saturday 13th July 2019, Gayfield Park, Arbroath, 3.00pm kick off

Arbroath return to competitive action today as we welcome Elgin City to Gayfield.

The Ladbrokes League 2 side are full of familiar faces with former striker Kane Hester and assistant Manager Keith Gibson who won the 3rd Division with the Lichties.

The sides met twice last season, once in this same fixture then in the Irn-Bru Cup where the Lichties claimed victory via a penalty shoot out.

Elgin City have strengthened over the summer with the signings of Andy McDonald (Stranraer), Euan Spark (Brechin City), Russell Dingwall (Ross County), Rory MacEwan (Stirling University), Conor O’Keefe (Stranraer) and returning striker Shane Sutherland from Peterhead.

Arbroath look to be without Scott Stewart and Luke Donnelly who are both nursing knocks and with no trialists allowed to play in the Betfred Cup it will be another tough start for both sides.

We hope you will get right behind the team from the start and C’mon the Lichties!

Previous Meetings

Arbroath 2 – 0 Elgin City – Betfred Cup – Group A – Game 3 – Season 2018 / 2019
Saturday 21st July 2018, Gayfield Park, Arbroath, 3.00pm kick off
Goals – Hamilton 52, O’Brien 82

Elgin City 1 – 1 Arbroath – Match Report – Irn-Bru Cup – Round 1 – Season 2018 / 2019
Wednesday 15th August 2018, Borough Briggs, Elgin, 7.45pm kick off
Goal – McHardy 83 – O’Brien 57 (Arbroath won 7-6 on penalties)

Elgin City – (including summer arrivals)

Manager – Gavin Price
Assistant Manager – Keith Gibson

GK – Thomas McHale

DF – Ashley Ballam
DF – Stephen Bronsky
DF – Matthew Cooper
DF – Liam McDade
DF – Andy McDonald (Stranraer)
DF – James McGowan
DF – Darryl McHardy
DF – Euan Spark (Brechin City)
DF – David Wilson

MF – Brian Cameron
MF – Russell Dingwall (Ross County)
MF – Owen Loveland
MF – Rory MacEwan (Stirling University)
MF – Conor O’Keefe (Stranraer)
MF – Lee Scott
MF – Aidan Sopel
MF – Kyle Willis

ST – Kane Hester
ST – Rabin Omar
ST – Shane Sutherland (Peterhead)

Jordan Lowdon (Stirling Albion),
Chris McLeish (Jeanfield Swifts),
Scott Roberts (Albion Rovers),
Ali Sutherland (Rothes, loan made permanent),
Kyle Gourlay (Dundee, end of loan),
Ross Maciver (Ross County, end of loan),
Greg Morrison (Ross County, end of loan),
Errol Watson (Deveronvale, end of loan),
Callum Wilson (Partick Thistle, end of loan),
Jon-Paul McGovern (retired),
Kerr Hay,
Moray Taylor


Neither team have any players suspended.

Referee – Graham Beaton
Assistant Referee 1 – Graeme Leslie
Assistant Referee 2 – Terry Ormiston

Matchday Programme;

Today’s programme will be on sale just inside of Gayfield and is the 1st programme of new season and is priced at £2.50 with Jason Thomson on the front cover.

Team Sheet – 20 pence (Available from the Club Shop)


Pay at the Gate – Cash Turnstiles in operation.
Admission allows you access to the entire ground, both the stand and terracing.

£12 – Adult
£8 – Concession – (Child, Students, OAP 65+, Disability Entry with a free carer)
£15 – Family (1x Adult + 1x Child)
Season Tickets Not Valid

No Segregation

The Hospitality Suite is open today as a Supporters Bar open from 1.00pm for both sets of supporters. Our Supporters Bar is for Strictly over 18s and we operate a challenge 25 policy.

Disabled Access – Bays at either end of the main stand. Each bay holds 3 wheelchairs and 3 carers

Parking – Ample Free Street Parking

We hope to see another fantastic support for our first home game of the season cheering on the Lichties!

We hope you can make it along!

C’mon the Lichties!


Players released courtesy of…

This is a demo store for testing purposes — no orders shall be fulfilled. Dismiss